Finding Forever

Do you believe in forever? She asked, and all I could do was stare at the wall. What a silly question it was! And yet, I knew it was more than me and more than her. Whatever words tied themselves together to answer that question would henceforth define us.

I don’t want to mess this up and my continued silence is already working against me. I know that only too well.

The hardest questions are always the easiest to ask. It takes over the mind and nags at you. It does not allow you to forget or move on with your life. This is its celebration, rejoicing at your lack of skill to conquer its mystery.

Finally,

No, I do not believe in forever. I let the words come slowly, weighing each one as it rolled off my tongue, making sure of my mind. There is no taking this back.

Forever is a romantic idea, and it is also weightless. I would never promise you forever, because it is not mine to give. I will give you all that I am and all that I can. That I am sure of and that I can promise you, without a single doubt in my mind.

Leave a Reply

