Dear Heartbreaker

Thank you for playing Bach on the guitar,
It’s the sweetest thing I’ve heard by far;

Thank you for the few weeks of courtship,
Born from it is a lifetime friendship.

Thank you for the long conversations,
Silly, deep – all special occasions.

Thank you for all the hugs of comfort,
Subtle touches always cut too short.

Thank you for waking me up at four,
You didn’t have to — I’m glad to the core.

Thank you for keeping me company,
In my nocturnal fight and folly.

You may never have fallen for me,
but I have always felt loved by thee;
and so this is how I choose, baby,
to commit you to my memory.

 

Leave a Reply

